Stage 9: Santo Domingo de la Calzada to Beolorado (Cheryl’s report)

I had lunch today with two French men that I’ve talked with several times, Henri (red shirt) and Christian (blue shirt), sitting outside the beautiful Restaurante Leon about 6 kilometers from today’s destination, Belorado.

Even though it ended up sizzling with no clouds or shade there were 4 villages before getting here, so I did the “losing” layers thing as the day went on. 23 kilometers is not so far a distance, but with the hot sun I knew I needed some food before the final push to Belorado, so the three of us stopped for a fantastic early lunch. We then went on in the heat and got our walking rhythm back by singing French songs (well, Henrie and Christian did, not me) and then me teaching them Wade in the Water ,loving in a low bass Nothin’s Gonna Trouble The Water. We ended up with The House of the Rising Sun and Hit the road Jack! We took Belorado by storm as we entered with Christmas carols! Henri and Christian were my angels today, and brought lots of laughs and fun to get me through.

Thanks gentlemen!

Henri

Christian

