The Way, a new film about the Pilgrim’s Way

I confess to being more than little allergic to celebrities, and pretty skeptical anytime a celebrity “discovers” something that didn’t really need their help to begin with. So, when I heard last autumn that Martin Sheen and his son Emilio Estevez were here filming “The Way”, a new film about the Camino de Santiago set to premiere on 10 November, I wasn’t exactly enthused about the idea. There have been lots of contemporary books, documentaries and films about the Camino in the past twenty years since the resurgence of interest in the Camino, some of them very good, some indifferent, and more than a few that were just plain awful.

That being said, the trailer for this film looks good. It looks like a respectful and serious dramatization of the experience of walking the Camino and, well, I’ve always liked Martin Sheen as an actor. He’s always struck me as being one of the most down-to-earth and unpretentious actors in Hollywood. I think I’ll be seeing this one. Here’s the trailer for the film:

